Student Council

Here to Serve you.

Student Council

The University Student Council of the University is the official student representative body of the MMUST' premiere institution of higher learning. As such, it represents the interests of the students within and outside the University. The University Student Council, also known as MMUSO, exists to represent  students in various affairs of the University, acting as the voice of students in the local, national, and international issues.

As the highest student representative body in the university, MMUSO is composed of members elected amongst the student body, mandated to organize and direct campaigns and activities to defend and promote students’ rights, and improve the students’ general welfare. 

All MMUST students subscribe and are members of the Masinde Muliro University Students Organization (MMUSO) hence eligible to elect MMUSO leaders every academic year. MMUSO elections and operations are based on MMUSO Constitution, which is in line with the amended Universities Act 2016 which takes care of the face of Kenya as well as, Gender and person who are abled differently. There are two groups of student leaders :

  1. Student Executive Council (SEC)
    a. Chairman
    b. Vice Chair
    c. Secretary General
    d. Treasurer
    e. Academic Secretary
    f. Games/Sports secretary
    g. Gender and Special interests secretary 

  2. Representatives, who are 36 in number
    They are representatives of the 11 Schools, 5 Halls of residence, 4 non-resident regions, School of Graduate Studies and the satellite campuses.

  • Eligibility for MMUSO leadership
    i. Must be a bonafide student of MMUST
    ii. Minimum average grade of 60% in the immediate previous academic year exams
    iii. No pending disciplinary issues
    iv. Leadership should reflect national diversity and the two thirds gender rule
    i. Monthly allowances
    ii. End of term trip
    iii. End of term honoraria
    iv. Free accommodation for SEC|

  • The 2 groups form MMUSO Parliament and elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker in their first Parliamentary seating. They report directly to the Dean of Students.



Connect with us

Dean, Students

Masinde Muliro University of Science & Technology,

P.O. Box, 190-50100, Kakamega, Kenya

  • dummy