alimni4Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology held the Alumni Elections on Saturday, 16th July, 2016 at MEA 001 Auditorium Hall. The purpose of the function was to elect a new office to take the reins from the interim office. 

The Vice Chancellor, Prof. Fred Otieno who graced the occasion welcomed the MMUSTAA members back to the University and underscored the need for the Alumni to plough back to their Alma Mater. The VC said that MMUST is committed to grow the student population and appealed to the Alumni to be ambassadors of the University wherever they are. 

Prof. Otieno revealed that the University management is in the process of implementing the tuition fees waiver for all MMUST Alumni. This he said, would aid graduates who want to develop themselves academically. He directed the Alumni Officer, Purity Muchere to liaise with the Computer department develop a databank of all MMUST Alumni suggesting that each graduate should submit an exit e-mail address such as another@ so as to make communication easy. The VC also challenged the Alumni to establish an endowment fund that can empower the orphans and the less fortunate in the society. 

The VC reiterated the importance of free and fair elections by the Alumni and hoped they will unite and join the MMST fraternity in building a world - class University, which they would be proud of. Prof. Otieno reminded the Alumni that they are welcome to visit the university anytime and to encourage the continuing students. He gave a special mention of Mr. Tom Shivachi, the Chairman WECO Founders Association for persistently monitoring the progress of the University. 

Prof. Otieno lauded Mr. Jerald Owino, the outgoing Chairman of the Alumni Interim Office and his team for reorganising MMUSTAA, and urged the new office that will be elected to embrace unity in carrying out their mandate. 

The elections were conducted peacefully and the following members won to form the new Executive Office: 

1) Chairman - Lubengu Kennedy Echesa

2) Deputy Chairman - Senator Daisy Kanaiza

3) Treasurer - Nyukuri Ignatius

4) Deputy Treasurer - Otiende Charles

5) Organising Secretary - Kennedy Wabwire 

6) Deputy Organising Secretary Nabutola Samson 

7) Newsletter Editor - Felistus Wavinya

8) Public Relations Officer - Mathew Wakori


1) James Amere Owich

2) Linet Tuiya

3) L. Njeri.

Mr. Kennedy Echesa the newly elected Chairman, thanked all Alumni members who participated in the elections and encouraged the new office bearers to corporate and work towards improving the image of the university. Dr. Bob Mbori, the Director, PCAP, representing Prof. Egara Kabaji, DVC Planning, Research and Innovation and Mr. Tom Shivachi, Chairman WECO Founders Association were also in attendance. The total number of members who voted was 71.

 P. O. BOX 190-50100, Kakamega

Phone no: +254 702597360/1

                  +254 733120020/2

                   057 2505222/3


All Rights Reserved. ...ISO 9001:2008 Certified.

Copyright © 2018.
Our website is protected by DMC Firewall!