Institutional Ethics Review Committee

The Directorate of Research and Extension serves the role of coordination for the Institutional ethics review committee whose functions include, to:

  • Provide independent, competent and timely review of human research projects in respect of their ethical acceptability. 
  • Provide ethical oversight, monitoring and advice for human research projects. 
  • Prescribe the principles and procedures to govern human research projects including handling of human tissue and/or confidentiality of personal records. 

Following the expiry of the terms of the members initially appointed by the senate to serve in the committee, new members have been appointed to serve for the next three years in MMUST IERC.

The following Members serve in the committee and constitute members from Kakamega County General hospital and MMUST. The University therefore requests for the Renewal of the accreditation to continue serving legitimately under the law.

Main Committee

  • Dr. Gordon Nguka - Chairman, MMUST IERC
  • Prof. Judith Achoka - Secretariat, Pastor
  • Prof. Oloo James A. - Public Health
  • Prof. Hassan Were - Bio-tech
  • Dr. James Bill Ouda - Psychology/Social Sciences and Anthropology
  • Dr. Ruth Simiyu - Sociology
  • Dr. Evans Raballah - Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Dr. Stanley Omuterema - Disaster Management
  • Dr. Geoffrey Matete - Consultant Gynaecologist
  • Dr. Linet Elamenya - Clinical Pharmacist
  • Dr. Bernard Wesonga - Scientist
  • Dr. Philip Ogutu - Biological Science
  • Dr. Alice Ndiema - SAVET
  • Dr. Ochanda - Nursing
  • Ms. Lilian Soibe - Nutrition
  • Ms. Maximilla Wanzala Public Health
  • Mr. Gregory Sakwa - Nursing
  • Fr. Muchanga Kizito - Faith/Community
  • Ms. Milkah Cheptinga- University Lawyer
  • Mr. Stephen Opanga - Pastor/community


Sub- Committees
Scientific and standard operating committee

  • Ms. Milka Cheptinga  
  • Dr. Evans Raballah
  • Fr. Muchanga Kizito
  • Prof. Jacob Wakhungu
  • Dr. Gordon Nguka
  • Dr. James Ouda

The inspection and side effect analysis committee

  • Dr. Linet Elamenya
  • Ms. Maximila Wanzala
  • Mr. Gregory Sakwa
  • Dr. Maringo (trustee)

Ethics and research committee

  • Prof. Achoka (trustee)\
  • Dr. Ruth Simiyu
  • Prof. James Oloo – Chairman
  • Dr. Geoffrey Matete
  • Rev. Opanga

Listing and categorization committee

  • Lilian Soibe 
  • Dr. James Ouda 
  • Dr. Evans Rabala 
  • Mr. Peter Ngome 
  • Prof. Shivoga (trustee)
  • Bio-Safety/Bio-Ethics committee 
  • Dr. Alice Ndiema 
  • Prof. Hassan Were 
  • Prof. Charles Mutai 
  • Dr. Philip Ogutu 
  • Dr. Stanley Omuterema

Fundraising expert sourcing coordinating committee

  • Grace Litali
  • Dr. Gordon Nguka
  • Dr. Ruth Simiyu
  • Dr. Bernard Wesonga
  • Prof. Charles Chunge (trustee)

Executive committee

  • Dr. Gordon Nguka – Chairman
  • Dr. Bernard Wesonga – Vice Chairman
  • Dr. Evans Raballah – Secretary
  • Dr. James Ouda – Deputy Secretary
  • Dr. Ruth Simiyu – Treasury

Connect with us

Director, Research

Masinde Muliro University of Science & Technology,

P.O. Box, 190-50100, Kakamega, Kenya

  • dummy